22 May 2023 :

Five resistance members accused of shooting dead four police officers on a Yangon train were sentenced to death by a junta court at Insein Prison on May 15, 2023, according to lawyers familiar with the case.
Suspects Ko Kyaw Win Soe, Ko Kaung Pyae Sone Oo, Ko San Min Aung, Ko Zayar Phyoe and Ma Myat Phyo Pwint were handed death sentences under the counter-terrorism law and separately given life sentences under the Arms Act (1949).
A court source confirmed the sentence, saying May 15 verdicts were delivered by a civilian court rather than martial court, as in previous such cases.
On August 14, 2021, six policemen working as guards on a Circular Railway train travelling from Yangon’s Central Station to Kyemindaing in the city’s west were shot at close range by three members of an anti-regime urban guerrilla group. Four of the police officers were killed on the spot while two were injured, and their firearms seized.
The targeted attack came one week after five resistance movement members jumped to their deaths from a four-story building to evade raiding troops. Two of the five died on the spot.
In September, the regime arrested five out of 16 people it suspected of being involved in the train attack.
The Assistance Association for Political Prisoners (AAPP) also verified that five men detained over the incident were sentenced to death this week.
AAPP said in its daily brief issued on May 18 that since the February 1, 2021, coup, a total of 3,520 people, including pro-democracy activists and civilians, have been killed in military crackdowns against the pro-democracy movement.
Junta courts have sentenced a total of 158 people to death since the coup.
Among those executed were four prominent pro-democracy figures including politicians U Jimmy and Ko Phyo Zeya Thaw.


other news